Disorderly conduct is a criminal offense in New Jersey that is separated into two distinct categories, one of which envelopes actions that constitute “improper behavior,” and the other entailing verbal expression that is deemed “offensive language.” Improper behavior can involve fighting, threatening, or what is legally termed “creating a hazardous condition,” while offensive language is rather self-explanatory. Either of these allegations can result in an arrest and a criminal charge for disorderly conduct, which requires a hearing at the local Municipal Court and can result in serious consequences.
Under New Jersey law, disorderly conduct is classified as a petty disorderly persons offense, which is punishable by a maximum sentence of 30 days to be served in the county jail, a fine of up to $500, and a conviction on your criminal record if you are ultimately found guilty. However, there are multiple avenues through which a seasoned attorney can achieve a positive resolution in a disorderly conduct case.
A Step by Step Guide to Your Way Through The Criminal Justice SystemWhat Should I do if I was Charged with a Crime in New Jersey?
For example, the attorneys at Chamlin, Uliano & Walsh are often able to negotiate with prosecutors on behalf of their clients in order to facilitate the downgrading of these charges to non-criminal infractions, known as municipal ordinance violations. This is extremely significant because a violation for a municipal ordinance, such as loitering, can be resolved by simply paying a fine and will not result in a charge on your criminal record, positioning you for greater success as you pursue future employment or educational opportunities.
If you or someone you love has been charged with disorderly conduct in Monmouth County, New Jersey, contact the offices of Chamlin, Uliano & Walsh at 732-440-3950 to discuss your case. Our trusted attorneys are prepared to help you move on with your life.
Disorderly Conduct ~ N.J.S.A. 2C:33-2
According N.J.S.A. 2C:33-2, which pertains to charges for “disorderly conduct,” these offenses are associated with the following:
a. Improper Behavior. A person is guilty of a petty disorderly persons offense, if with purpose to cause public inconvenience, annoyance or alarm, or recklessly creating a risk thereof he:
(1) Engages in fighting or threatening, or in violent or tumultuous behavior; or
(2) Creates a hazardous or physically dangerous condition by any act which serves no legitimate purpose of the actor.
b. Offensive language. A person is guilty of a petty disorderly persons offense if, in a public place, and with purpose to offend the sensibilities of a hearer or in reckless disregard of the probability of so doing, he addresses unreasonably loud and offensively coarse or abusive language, given the circumstances of the person present and the setting of the utterance, to any person present.
* As described above, Disorderly Conduct is classified as a Petty Disorderly Persons Offense, which may entail a maximum sentence of 30 days to be served in the county jail and a fine of up to $500 for those convicted.
Contact Tinton Falls NJ Disorderly Conduct Lawyers for Help with Your Case
The law offices of Chamlin, Uliano & Walsh has established an outstanding reputation through tireless dedication to their clients. Contact 732-440-3950 to speak with one of our attorneys. We are happy to answer any of your questions and to discuss the alternatives available to you with a knowledgeable legal advocate on your side.